new In accordance with Chapter VIII of the Ordinance to establish Kerala Technological University (KTU), Government of Kerala vide GO (Ms) No. 93/2015/HEdn dated 11.03.2015 have made affiliation of all institutions which imparts education in Engineering and Technology in the State of Kerala with KTU as mandatory from the academic year 2015-16 onward. In view of this B.Tech and M.Tech programmes offered by Model Engineering College are now affiliated to APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University ( for the Academic Year 2015-16.

Govt. Model Engineering College offers the following full-time courses under APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University:

B.Tech Degree in Computer Science and Engineering 120 seats
B.Tech Degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering 120 seats
B.Tech Degree in Electronics and Biomedical Engineering 60 seats
B.Tech Degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering 60 seats
B.Tech Degree in Mechanical Engineering 60 seats
M.Tech degree in VLSI Design and Embedded Systems 24 seats
M.Tech in Mechanical Engineering with specialization in Energy Management 18 seats
M.Tech degree in Electronic with specialization in Signal Processing 18 seats
M.Tech degree Computer Science and Engineering in Image Processing 18 seats

Additional 10% students are allotted in each branch for B.Tech Degree Course from Kerala Engineering Entrance Examination Rank list as per the Govt. of Kerala orders (Tuition Fee Waiver scheme for women, economically backward and physically handicapped meritorious students).

Lateral entry Admission to Second Year for Diploma holders: Additional 10% in annual intake (Govt. & Management Seats in each branch).

Academic Eligibility: Candidates who have passed Higher Secondary Examination, Kerala, or Examinations recognized as equivalent thereto, with 50 % marks in Mathematics separately and 50 % marks in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry / Bio-technology / Computer Science / Biology taken together are eligible for admission.

Allotment to 95% seats of the annual intake is made by the Commissioner for Entrance examination (CEE), Government of Kerala from the rank list of Kerala Engineering Entrance examination conducted every year by Govt. of Kerala. For Details of Kerala Engineering Entrance Examination and allotment, Click here.

5% seats are reserved for non resident Indians (NRI seats). For NRI admission, separate applications are invited by IHRD and rank list is prepared on the basis of qualifying examination and students are admitted from this rank list.