Board of Governors

Since Model Engineering College (MEC) is an Institution under IHRD, Govt. of Kerala, the governance of the institute is done as per the rules framed by IHRD. The decision making bodies in IHRD are the Governing Body and the Executive committee which has got control over all IHRD institutions. However in order to streamline the activities of various Engineering Colleges in IHRD, exclusive Boards of Governors were constituted for each institution. The Board of Governors (BOG) for MEC was constituted as per the order of the Director of IHRD numbered EA3/17887/2016/HRD dated 15.12.2016.

The principal functions of the Board of Governors are:

  • To approve the mission and strategic vision of the institution, long-term business plans and annual budgets; ensuring that these meet the interests of stakeholders including students, employers, local communities, government and others representing public interests.
  • To ensure the establishment and monitoring of proper, effective and efficient systems of control and accountability (including financial and operational controls, risk assessment and management), clear procedures for managing resources including for example, handling internal grievances and for managing conflicts of interest.
  • To monitor institutional performance and quality assurance arrangements, which should be, where possible and appropriate, benchmarked against other institutions nationally and internationally (including accreditation and alignment with national and international quality assurance systems.)
  • Enable implementation of all academic and nonacademic institutional reforms,
  • Ensure compliance with guidelines of the regulatory body (AICTE) and statutes of the affiliating University

Present Members of the Board of Governors

Prof. Eldho T I

Professor, Dept. of Civil Engg. IIT Bombay,Mumbai- 400076


Sri. S .Thomas

CEO, Digital Core Technologies, 3 rd floor, Ajiyal Complex, Kakkanad, Kochi-682030 Educationalist/Industrialist/Professional


Sri. Pradeep Sasikumar,

Physical Design Specialist, Wafer Space Semiconductor Technologies Pvt. Ltd, Bangalore-560103


Prof. Laila D

Professor and Head, Dept. of Electronics Engineering, Model Engg. college, Thrikkakara
Faculty of Institution


Mr. Manilal D L

Head, Dept. of Computer Engineering, Model Engineering College,
Faculty of Institution


Prof. Jyothi John

Retired Principal, Model Engineering College, Thrikkakara Mulamoottil House, Prakkanam P O, Pathanamthitta-689643


Dr. Ramesh U

Director, AICTE, Thiruvananthapuram
AICTE nominee


Dr. G P Padmakumar

Registrar, APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University
University Nominee


Dr. Jacob Thomas V

Principal-in-charge Model Engineering College, Thrikkakkara
Principal of the institution


Sri. Thulasidharan Pillai G

Additional Secretary, Higher Education Dept.
State Government Nominee